Home
Login
Database
Submit
My Quality Ales
Festivals
Contact Us
Links


Reviews for: Deuchars IPA

From: Caledonian

ABV: 3.8%

Quality Ales Rating:7.65 from 13 reviews

 
From: Nick - 2468 Rank: Field Marshall Tun
Rating: 7.00
 
A wonderfully refreshing beer, light and very hoppy. Extremely tasty and well deserving of the many accolades this beer has received. A must try!

I have tried this ale many times since and have recently reevaluated the beer. There has been a distinct change and the ale now no longer has the sharp asertive hoppiness of the original.Once an 8 now still good but only a 7. Something has changed!

Caveat Emptor
Submited On: 2005-05-09
 
From: clive - 302 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 7.00
 
a rather bland light brown beer
Submited On: 2005-02-17
 
From: Eastender - 4 Rank: Corporal Quart
Rating: 9.00
 
This is one of my favourite beers and when it's on form it's unbeatable. Light and hoppy it is considered by many to be a "lager drinker's beer" and is definitely a good introduction to the world of real ale. My mate had a theory a few years ago that some of this was being produced "off site" as usually it was quite hoppy but sometimes it could also have a slightly bitter aftertaste and on other occasions it could almost be described as a wee bit fruity ! I had an opportunity to challenge one of the guys who runs the Caley Brewery about this and he had a bit of a laugh about it. Turns out there are three brewers there who each have slightly different ideas about how the beer should be made - hence the different 'versions' ! four and a half out of five for Edinburgh's premier ale ...
Submited On: 2004-03-19
 
From: Carry-oot - 6 Rank: Corporal Quart
Rating: 9.00
 
The world became a better place when Deuchars IPA was installed as a regular beer in my local. From being a very occasional treat in this neck of the woods, this became my regular tipple. A dream come true. Very distinctive light hoppy bitter flavour, but not so light as to be a "summer ale". One of the all-time greats.
Submited On: 2004-03-30
 
From: barthez - 808 Rank: Major General Hogs Head
Rating: 7.50
 
A hoppy and maybe floral tasting ale. But to be up their with the best it needs some fruitiness and more strength!
Submited On: 2004-08-04
 
From: matt635 - 431 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 7.00
 
Light and Floral... Yep, Refreshing... Maybe, Tasty... Not Particularly. This was a little too weak (3.8%) and a little too pale for my liking. Fans of this style of beer should give it a go.
Submited On: 2004-09-14
 
From: Sigmund - 395 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 8.50
 
A very pleasant and well balanced cask IPA / golden ale.
Submited On: 2004-10-19
 
From: Trotts - 302 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 7.50
 
Very light and refreshing bitter with a hoppy character. Good for a summer afternoon pint.
Submited On: 2004-10-19
 
From: K Folwell - 3457 Rank: Head Of Allied Command
Rating: 8.50
 
Pale golden classic refreshing session ale. Loverly combination of hops and malt with an underlying fruitiness. A long bitter finish completes this excellant drink
Submited On: 2005-02-16
 
From: Greyham - 71 Rank: Lieutenant Pin
Rating: 8.50
 
I had the opportunity to have 5 Pints in the Breweries Hospitality Bar at a CAMRA Meeting in Edinburgh and it was far better than what we get down south.

Also people have said that it has altered it not surprising as stated in a previous comment.

Turns out there are Three Brewers there who each have slightly different ideas about how the beer should be made - hence the different ‘versions’!

But it is still a Very Drinkable BEER
Submited On: 2006-05-09

Page 1 of 2