Home
Login
Database
Submit
My Quality Ales
Festivals
Contact Us
Links


Reviews for: John Smiths Bitter

From: Scottish Courage

ABV: 3.8%

Quality Ales Rating:1.91 from 11 reviews

 
From: Nick - 2468 Rank: Field Marshall Tun
Rating: 1.00
 
Simply dreadful. Over 1 million pints of,this, astringent, nasty, gaseous, harsh, tart, putrid, malodourous, offensive, mephitic shit are sold each day in the UK. With over £20 million pounds spent on advertising each year it only goes to show how gullible the general public are. I know it's a close run thing between Tetley's cask and this but I would have to be tourtured before I drank this. The bosses at Scottish Courage should be ashamed of themselves! There is more to life than making money and if it were in my power I would close this brewery tommorow. Nobody in ther right mind should touch this, I have tasted better ditch water.
Submited On: 2004-03-03
 
From: Christ - 40 Rank: Lieutenant Pin
Rating: 1.00
 
Piss, no.. worse than piss. This must be what it's like to drink someone elses piss that you really don't like. And your not even thirsty!

I got bought this by an ex-mate when what i wanted was off. I am not going to tell you about it's lack of qualities as i am undergoing therapy and have been told to put the experiance behind me.
Submited On: 2004-07-25
 
From: matt635 - 431 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 1.50
 
I think I've made up a new word that describes John Smiths Cask Bitter... it is BLEER. To the unsuspecting eye it looks like an ordinary pint of beer... but it isn't. Beer is made up of good wholesome ingredients, most of which are provided to us by nature. BLEER is made up from chemicals found in a lab, all specifically designed to cancel each others flavours out, and leave your tastebuds feeling as though they have been chemically sterilised. It only has the flavour it does because one of the YTS lads that helps brew it pissed in the tank!

Harsh, but fair.
Submited On: 2004-10-14
 
From: Sigmund - 395 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 5.50
 
(Cask + keg). A very smooth and drinkable 'bitter', perhaps without too much character. Still, I openly admit enjoying it! Rerate nitro-can: Delete the 'perhaps' - it's DEFINITELY without too much character. I over-rated this brew the first time. It's still drinkable, but far from great!
Submited On: 2005-03-07
 
From: barthez - 808 Rank: Major General Hogs Head
Rating: 1.50
 
This really is fabulous, an intense punch of hoppy, fruity, citrusy flavours. A more refreshing pint you will not find. Scottish Courage are the King of Brewers and should be really proud!

Reality Check: The only good thing about this beer is that it looks like beer and it is wet.
Submited On: 2005-01-17
 
From: AlexK - 9 Rank: Sergeant Gallon
Rating: 1.50
 
Amazingly thin. Too awful to even discuss.
Submited On: 2005-05-23
 
From: kevin b - 112 Rank: Captain Firkin
Rating: 1.00
 
a very poor pint even at its best very bad flavour not to be recomended in future if its all i can get i will drink lager
Submited On: 2005-12-07
 
From: dirtydetko - 21 Rank: Sergeant Gallon
Rating: 0.50
 
Why anyone would even think about drinking this I'll never understand. Just the thought of it is enough to make anyone sick. frankly, pathetic, shame you can't rate as 0
Submited On: 2007-02-12
 
From: glossopowl - 15 Rank: Sergeant Gallon
Rating: 0.50
 
When you ask punters why they are drinking it, they say its cos they know what to expect....would rather expect a beer that tastes nice...this is dreadful, poor stuff, a mystery why it sells so well.
Submited On: 2007-03-08
 
From: tombyars - 1031 Rank: Lieutenant General Butt
Rating: 5.00
 
Only sampled this bitter once at the Woodsman, Burneston. Copper red in colour with a thick creamy white head. Aroma difficult to detect but slight malt in there. Good mouthfeel but lacking in complexity. Malty flavour evident - just, with a harsh metallic tang of hop resin.
Submited On: 2007-08-22

Page 1 of 2