Home
Login
Database
Submit
My Quality Ales
Festivals
Contact Us
Links


Reviews for: Wherry Best Bitter

From: Woodfordes

ABV: 3.8%

Quality Ales Rating:6.70 from 10 reviews

 
From: Nick - 2468 Rank: Field Marshall Tun
Rating: 8.50
 
A beautifully balanced beer. For it's strength this is a classic with a fabulous aroma and a long lingering aftertaste. One of the very best session beers available in the uk.
Submited On: 2005-01-05
 
From: matt635 - 431 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 7.00
 
It has a pleasant floral taste that is nice and refreshing. It smells pretty vile though. I could probably drink alot of this on a hot day. Unfortunatley it lacked that special something that I look for in a beer (it lacked ABV too!)
Submited On: 2004-05-14
 
From: barthez - 808 Rank: Major General Hogs Head
Rating: 6.50
 
Well once again I heard great things about this beer from the self professed beer expert owner of this site. Unfortunately I think he probably drank this about 20 years ago when he was going through his mid-life crisis. This is not impressive, very malty with not enough hoppiness and no real punch.
Submited On: 2004-05-15
 
From: kevin b - 112 Rank: Captain Firkin
Rating: 7.00
 
This beer has a fruity initial taste,and a good bitter aftertaste.A good drinkingale foralong session.
All in all a very pleasant drink
Submited On: 2004-07-19
 
From: K Folwell - 3457 Rank: Head Of Allied Command
Rating: 8.50
 
One of my all time favourites. Starts with a flowery, hoppy aroma that extends into the taste. Not over bitter and the flavours linger as a result.
Submited On: 2004-10-05
 
From: Sigmund - 395 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 7.50
 
Cask conditioned at The Pickerel, Cambridge. (Was also available at the Cambridge Beer Festival.) Deep golden colour. Slightly sulphurous aroma, some fruits (plums, cherries?) too. Very nice moderately hoppy flavour with citrussy elements. A decent session bitter.
Submited On: 2005-08-29
 
From: archroy - 14 Rank: Sergeant Gallon
Rating: 6.00
 
well balanced beer, a touch watery, good, but not great, dont understand why its so revered ?
Submited On: 2006-03-09
 
From: diddypuk - 6 Rank: Corporal Quart
Rating: 3.50
 
Slight bitterness and some caramel flavour. Very gassy, not too much aroma.
Submited On: 2006-08-07
 
From: tombyars - 1031 Rank: Lieutenant General Butt
Rating: 6.50
 
Sampled this bitter in the Three Marys, Linlithgow in April 1993. Pale amber in colour with a thin white creamy head. Nice malty aroma with refreshing mouthfeel. Pale malt complexes giving a sweet fruity spangle flavour. Dry hop resin evident in the aftertaste.
Submited On: 2007-08-14
 
From: anth - 254 Rank: Lieutenant Colonel Kilderkin
Rating: 6.00
 
[On draught at the Green Gate Inn, Caister-on-Sea, Norfolk] Finally found a pub serving decent quality real ale in Caister - although admittedly the choice was only this or Ruddles. Pours a pale orange-bronze with a large but diminishing head - this is an attractive pint! Soft carbonation leads into a very mellow, light-tasting pint - an earthy mellowness in the foregrouns with an odd sharpness behind that made me think of raspberries. In fact, summer fruits quickly came to dominate the flavour - this is very much an easy-drinking summer evening pint. However, thereâs nothing outstanding about it, and itâs rather let down by a dusty bitter finish that doesnât really fit in.
Submited On: 2008-08-01

Page 1 of 1