Home
Login
Database
Submit
My Quality Ales
Festivals
Contact Us
Links


Reviews for: 6X

From: Wadworth

ABV: 4.3%

Quality Ales Rating:4.45 from 10 reviews

 
From: Nick - 2468 Rank: Field Marshall Tun
Rating: 3.00
 
A very bland beer of low gravity and taste. Copper in colour with a distinctive malty taste this beer is about as bland as a 4.3% ale gets. You have got to be a pretty boring old fool to like this as it really is poor. National advertising costing millions of pounds makes things worse. Why push such a tastless product when a tin pot micro in a garden shed can make something better. I would suggest Wadworths learn to give up on this crap before they waste any more money.
Submited On: 2003-10-18
 
From: barthez - 808 Rank: Major General Hogs Head
Rating: 3.00
 
Wadworth really do need some tastebuds. Some pubs even have the gaul to call this a guest ale. Any pub ordering this by choice isn't worth frequenting!!!!
Submited On: 2003-10-18
 
From: luke - 216 Rank: Lieutenant Colonel Kilderkin
Rating: 4.00
 
I can remember when 6X was a passable beer. Unfortunatley the national market has meant the beer has dropped from fair to poor
Submited On: 2003-10-19
 
From: matt635 - 431 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 3.50
 
I thought this was pretty good actually... ONLY JOKING! yep, bland, nasty and pointless. Don't bother.
Submited On: 2004-10-07
 
From: Sigmund - 395 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 6.50
 
It's been a while since I had this, but as I remember it, the commercial description seems pretty accurate. Good cask ale! Rerate: Nope, not really that good after all! Drinkable, but far from brilliant.
Submited On: 2005-03-07
 
From: shandybass - 25 Rank: Second Lieutenant Pin
Rating: 2.50
 
Mmmmmm.Had this one as it was recommended.
It was like a meadiocre kebab at 0230 hrs so God knows what it quite tastes like in reality.
Submited On: 2005-02-20
 
From: K Folwell - 3457 Rank: Head Of Allied Command
Rating: 4.50
 
Reddy, brown coloured flagship ale from a brewery that used to produce fine beers. This is now only a passable drink at best. Fruit and malt dominate the tatse but it should have more body for an ale of this strength. Minimum of bitterness.
Submited On: 2005-04-05
 
From: kevin b - 112 Rank: Captain Firkin
Rating: 4.50
 
nice clear amber colour,strange mix of tastes not unpleasant ,but i have tasted better.
Submited On: 2006-11-14
 
From: tombyars - 1031 Rank: Lieutenant General Butt
Rating: 5.00
 
Had this recently in my local Wetherspoons in Saltcoats, June 2006. First sampled this bitter way back in 1990 and this beer now lacks the complexity of yesteryear and has become a ghost of its former self. Copper red in colour with a sweet fruity aroma. Thin body and mouthfeel. Pale malt complexes giving a digestive biscuit maltiness with raisin fruit notes. Metallic hop resin in the balanced but poor aftertaste.
Submited On: 2007-08-11
 
From: anth - 254 Rank: Lieutenant Colonel Kilderkin
Rating: 8.00
 
[On draught at Sweeney & Todd's, Reading] This was ubiquitous in Wiltshire when I was growing up, and at the time I didn't like it. I've avoided it for years, and was going to avoid it tonight as well. However, my first choice (adnams The Bitter) turned out to have gone off, and so I thought I'd give the 6X another chance. And Wadworth's rewarded me well - It's sweet, malty, smooth, treacle, some raisin flavour, a hint of smoke; all in all, a beautiful pint. I can't believe I avoided it all those years!
Submited On: 2008-03-16

Page 1 of 1