Home
Login
Database
Submit
My Quality Ales
Festivals
Contact Us
Links


Reviews for: Draught Bass

From: Inbev

ABV: 4.4%

Quality Ales Rating:3.34 from 16 reviews

 
From: Nick - 2468 Rank: Field Marshall Tun
Rating: 3.50
 
This is quite simply awful. This once great beer has had the taste destroyed over the past 30 years. It amazes me that pubs still stock the stuff. Its only saving grace is the fact that it is still better that at least 50 real ales in the UK. If you still drink Draught Bass your taste buds are dead either because your a heavy smoker or you are a senial old fool who once remembered a beer that was good. If you don't fit into either of these catagories it may be that this is all your local pub has! in which case for christ's sake try something else which may have some taste. Tried again on 30/06/05 in good condition. Still very bland but I have upped my ranking by 0.5.
Submited On: 2005-07-01
 
From: barthez - 808 Rank: Major General Hogs Head
Rating: 4.00
 
This is poor. But not as bad as I feared. Maybe a hint of flavour but then again maybe not.
Submited On: 2004-10-19
 
From: luke - 216 Rank: Lieutenant Colonel Kilderkin
Rating: 3.00
 
A simply awful beer. If you drink this beer i would advise you to change your pub. This beer has no real taste.
Submited On: 2003-10-28
 
From: Christ - 40 Rank: Lieutenant Pin
Rating: 2.00
 
I don't know what happened, i was thursty, a stranger in a strange town and didn't know the pub or what was on tap so i asked for a pint of bass... urggh... I should have gone to the bog and swigged from the tap. Very disapointing.
Submited On: 2003-11-05
 
From: Greg - 11 Rank: Sergeant Gallon
Rating: 2.00
 
Only a daft bas will drink draft bass!
Submited On: 2003-11-20
 
From: egajdzis - 1 Rank: Private Pint
Rating: 6.00
 
Poured an amber color with a medium sized white head and nice lacing. Malt, caramel, and sweet for a macro. Not bad at all.
Submited On: 2004-01-14
 
From: matt635 - 431 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 1.50
 
I think to call this tasteless is a bit unfair... it has a familiar flavour that is difficult to place, I think it was when I accidentally swallowed some Mr Muscle Window & Glass Cleaner. Seriously, it is that bad.
Submited On: 2004-03-12
 
From: Carry-oot - 6 Rank: Corporal Quart
Rating: 2.50
 
I can barely remember the last time I had a decent pint of Bass, but I do remember that it used to be excellent in the olden days. Now, however, what the hell have they done to it? Best avoided unless the only other option is nitro-keg stuff. Very sad.
Submited On: 2004-03-30
 
From: CFW - 4 Rank: Corporal Quart
Rating: 5.00
 
This beer is still a classic but not what it was admittedly. Do we want big brewers to give up totally on cask ale. They are damned if they do and damned if they don't. The poor scoring is unjustified. How can a beer like this only score 1s & 2s, it's not Geoffrey Boycott! If the beer was off it was the pubs fault not the beer, if you prefer other beers vote for them, don't vote down cask beer from the nationals just because it is bland. For Cask beer to enjoy a full resurgence it need the full support of the major breweries.
Submited On: 2004-06-30
 
From: K Folwell - 3457 Rank: Head Of Allied Command
Rating: 3.50
 
These days I drink this only out of necessity. Kept well it can still only be descibed as passable. A full malty beer with a hint of fruitiness but you should get more from a 4.4 beer.
Submited On: 2004-08-26

Page 1 of 2