Home
Login
Database
Submit
My Quality Ales
Festivals
Contact Us
Links


Reviews for: Bishops Finger

From: Shepherd Neame

ABV: 5.0%

Quality Ales Rating:6.50 from 11 reviews

 
From: Alex - 2 Rank: Corporal Quart
Rating: 6.00
 
Good dark, malty, strong ale but beer of this strength should have a more distinctive flavour.
Submited On: 2003-10-20
 
From: matt635 - 431 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 5.50
 
When I tried this I really did feel that this just wasn't anything special. Fair enough, its got a half decent kick to it, but you might find yourself struggling to finish it off quickly - just so you can try something else
Submited On: 2004-02-23
 
From: Sigmund - 395 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 8.00
 
Kentish strong ale of golden brown colour, good head, malty aroma with caramel and oak. Nutty flavour, well hopped, "raw" in the edges (which I like). (500 ml bottle). Would love to try this one cask conditioned!
Submited On: 2004-10-21
 
From: barthez - 808 Rank: Major General Hogs Head
Rating: 5.50
 
This is not a good beer, it is average at best. I am struggling to find a good beer from Shephard Neame!! A bitter malty taste.
Submited On: 2004-11-01
 
From: K Folwell - 3457 Rank: Head Of Allied Command
Rating: 6.50
 
Deep golden, strong ale with a sweet but sharp, malty taste. Some bitterness in the background and a strong tasting finish that lasts.
Submited On: 2005-06-07
 
From: tombetts - 5 Rank: Corporal Quart
Rating: 7.00
 
Very good ale, orange after taste puts it above above many beers. Very distinctive.
Submited On: 2007-01-09
 
From: dirtydetko - 21 Rank: Sergeant Gallon
Rating: 6.50
 
nice proper beer. Not to much fancy stuff and all the better for it!
Submited On: 2007-02-12
 
From: kevin b - 112 Rank: Captain Firkin
Rating: 6.50
 
A nice dark colour with a strong bitter taste.
not unpleasant but not worth another.
Submited On: 2007-05-04
 
From: Nick - 2468 Rank: Field Marshall Tun
Rating: 6.50
 
A robust Kentish style ale with a very traditional taste and a malty balance in the finish. A little ordinary by todays standards but I am sure many would enjoy this ale.
Submited On: 2007-05-04
 
From: tombyars - 1031 Rank: Lieutenant General Butt
Rating: 5.50
 
Had this in Coanes, Johnstone April 1990. Russet red in colour with frothy white head. Very hoppy aroma with good mouthfeel. Fiery pale malt base giving a warm baked bread flavour in the mouth, just a hint of green apple and sultana in the fruit notes. Then the hops kick in and you can taste the resin - full on in the aftertaste. Malty notes in the finish however. Better balanced than Spitfire and more rounded overall.
Submited On: 2007-08-03

Page 1 of 2