Home
Login
Database
Submit
My Quality Ales
Festivals
Contact Us
Links


Reviews for: Bishops Farewell

From: Oakham

ABV: 4.6%

Quality Ales Rating:8.17 from 12 reviews

 
From: Alex - 2 Rank: Corporal Quart
Rating: 9.00
 
A truly fabulous ale. Not as light at the JHB but very distinctive. It packs a wonderful flavour and is in my 10 ten this year.Miss it at your peril!
Submited On: 2003-10-20
 
From: barthez - 808 Rank: Major General Hogs Head
Rating: 8.50
 
Another superb golden hoppy ale from Oakham. Always a delight to behold.
Submited On: 2004-12-21
 
From: luke - 216 Rank: Lieutenant Colonel Kilderkin
Rating: 8.50
 
A good refreshing beer and well worth a pint, what we have come to expect from the oakham brewery.
Submited On: 2004-01-27
 
From: Nick - 2468 Rank: Field Marshall Tun
Rating: 9.00
 
A wonderfully aromatic light hoppy ale. This is so good I had a firkin for christmas. Why dont more pubs stock this? It dosnt get much better than this.
Submited On: 2004-10-26
 
From: matt635 - 431 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 7.50
 
Well, I have to be honest, I had this out of a barrell that some half-wit had moved just minutes before... so it was a bit cloudy to say the least (or should that be yeast?) All things considered it wasn\'t unpleasent and Oakhams do have a good reputation, so i\'ll give it the benefit of the doubt.
Submited On: 2004-03-20
 
From: clive - 302 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 8.00
 
a lovely golden beer with an aromatic flavour
Submited On: 2004-11-15
 
From: K Folwell - 3457 Rank: Head Of Allied Command
Rating: 8.00
 
Floral nose and initial taste. The sweetness in the flavour fades and the finish is sharper and dryer.
Submited On: 2004-11-16
 
From: kevin b - 112 Rank: Captain Firkin
Rating: 7.50
 
nice very pale colour , refreshing taste with a good bitter flavour.a distinctive beer that is well worth
a few more pints!according to the pump in the pub it was 4.8%??
Submited On: 2008-05-06
 
From: Sigmund - 395 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 8.00
 
Cask conditioned at the Smithfield, Derby. Golden colour. Lovely citrussy aroma. Complex hoppy, herbal and citrussy flavour. Very good!
Submited On: 2005-03-08
 
From: tombyars - 1031 Rank: Lieutenant General Butt
Rating: 7.00
 
Sampled this bitter in the Bon Accord, Glasgow in December 2005. Clear yellow straw in colour with a creamy white head. Intense citric aroma and crisp mouthfeel. Pale malts lead to a fruity lemon and grapefruit flavour with a slight hint of herbs and spices. Dry apple notes with nutmeg in the floral hop resins. A nice bittersweet finish and a better balance of malt and hops in this good session ale.
Submited On: 2007-12-11

Page 1 of 2