Home
Login
Database
Submit
My Quality Ales
Festivals
Contact Us
Links


Reviews for: Old Hooky

From: Hook Norton

ABV: 4.6%

Quality Ales Rating:6.86 from 11 reviews

 
From: Nick - 2468 Rank: Field Marshall Tun
Rating: 7.00
 
Old Hookey is a very well balanced mid amber coloured ale. It has a rich nutty malt flavour with a distictive Hook Norton aroma. Not excessively hopped it's well worth a try and is clearly a more tasty beer than the best bitter.
Submited On: 2003-11-07
 
From: matt635 - 431 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 6.00
 
Not too bad. I found the flavour went from chocolate to vinegar as I got down the pint though!.
Submited On: 2003-11-23
 
From: luke - 216 Rank: Lieutenant Colonel Kilderkin
Rating: 7.00
 
A mid amber coloured ale with the distinctive Hook Norton malted flavour, lightly hopped with a slight bitterness. Much better than alot of their beers and well worth trying, quite pleasant and drinkable.
Submited On: 2004-08-01
 
From: barthez - 808 Rank: Major General Hogs Head
Rating: 7.00
 
Dark with some subtle sweetness, an ideal winter beer. I would rate this as a good example of an average real ale. A pleasant pint that lacks that extra punch that would make it excellent.
Submited On: 2004-08-02
 
From: K Folwell - 3457 Rank: Head Of Allied Command
Rating: 7.50
 
Dark amber ale with a distinctive, malty nose. The taste starts with a balance of malt and hops with a good bitterness. This develops into a sweeter pleasent finish.
Submited On: 2004-10-19
 
From: clive - 302 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 7.50
 
A nice dark amber ale with nice hop characteristics.
Submited On: 2005-04-06
 
From: Graeme - 18 Rank: Sergeant Gallon
Rating: 5.00
 
Colour: Dark/Rich Amber
Head: Creamy
The Sniff: Nothing Striking
The First Sip: A pleasant tang on the back of the throat. Very smooth beer. No lasting aftertaste. A nice beer, easy to drink, but pretty average.
Bitterness Scale (1 = V Bitter, 10 = V Sweet): 6
Submited On: 2005-07-10
 
From: kevin b - 112 Rank: Captain Firkin
Rating: 7.50
 
I really liked this beer the taste was deceptivly
smooth for a strong ale.
good colour and aroma,i could have drunk more but for the strength!!
Submited On: 2006-01-20
 
From: Trotts - 302 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 7.50
 
Mid coloured bitter with a malty flavour, slight hint of hops. quite smooth and pleasant finish. Not a bad pint.
Submited On: 2007-02-10
 
From: sangamo - 9 Rank: Sergeant Gallon
Rating: 6.00
 
a pleasent enough pint good strength and body but was a bit too fruity, as it said on the label. Hard work the further down the pint I got. Dont think I would go out my way to buy again
Submited On: 2007-09-08

Page 1 of 2