Home
Login
Database
Submit
My Quality Ales
Festivals
Contact Us
Links


Reviews for: Greene King IPA

From: Greene King

ABV: 3.6%

Quality Ales Rating:3.65 from 13 reviews

 
From: Nick - 2468 Rank: Field Marshall Tun
Rating: 4.00
 
A light coloured amber ale. IPA is very bland. It has very little flavour or aroma.Unfortunately Greene King are now spending big bucks promoting this rubbish. Greene King have better beers in their portfolio,this one needs some improvement and a bit more originality.

I have now fallen out with Camra as they awarded this ale 2nd place in this years champion ale of Great Britan competition at the GBBF. Who was on the tasting panel? Obviously nobody from Qualityales, I am ashamed to be part of Camra after this as it is an obvious fix. John Smiths might be in with a chance next year!
Submited On: 2003-10-22
 
From: matt635 - 431 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 5.00
 
Not as bad as I'd expected. Imagine supermarket own brand lager... but a bit smoother. Lacks any real flavour or aroma, or strength, or body, or taste or... .... ..
Submited On: 2004-03-29
 
From: barthez - 808 Rank: Major General Hogs Head
Rating: 3.00
 
If you combine a beer with an ABV below 4 with one of the biggest brewers you end up with a pathetic beer like this. Poor to say the least.
Submited On: 2004-04-24
 
From: Sigmund - 395 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 6.50
 
Cask conditioned at The Wheatsheaf, Parsons Green, London. Served a bit too cold for a cask ale. Honey coloured. Minimal head. Little detectable aroma, a smoky pub probably had most of the blame. This is a smooth and very drinkable bitter without too much character. Moderate hoppiness, hardly an "authentic" IPA.
Submited On: 2004-10-19
 
From: clive - 302 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 4.00
 
It looks like a pale ale - but looks can be deceptive at least it\'s better than warm lager
Submited On: 2004-11-22
 
From: K Folwell - 3457 Rank: Head Of Allied Command
Rating: 3.50
 
Light coloured ale. Not as bitter as a standard IPA and little in the way of hop evidence. The taste tends to fade to nothing and dies. I'm not sure how this beer won a major prize at last years GBBF. They must have been drinking something different to what's available in the pubs!
Submited On: 2005-01-05
 
From: kevin b - 112 Rank: Captain Firkin
Rating: 6.00
 
good colour served at the right temperature which makes a change for however not an outstanding beer.
I enjoyed the pint and would drink it again but i expected more from Greene King
Submited On: 2005-03-20
 
From: Bill - 5 Rank: Corporal Quart
Rating: 2.50
 
poor and unfortunately widely available where I live. IPA can be so much better than this.
Submited On: 2005-10-11
 
From: archroy - 14 Rank: Sergeant Gallon
Rating: 3.00
 
bland even at its best ! i'd rather drink guinness and I do if this is all that is on offer ! Unfortunately to often it is, even in freehouses ! GK must have damn good sales reps or give it away !
Submited On: 2006-03-09
 
From: Halfatick - 5 Rank: Corporal Quart
Rating: 0.50
 
I know there are a lot of IPAs of lowish strength, when real IPA is higher, but this stuff is like nuns water!.....not that I've tasted nuns water of course.
How the hell it won Beer of the Year three years ago beats me....don't tell me it's not only in soccer where there's bungs too!
Submited On: 2006-09-19

Page 1 of 2