Home
Login
Database
Submit
My Quality Ales
Festivals
Contact Us
Links


No beer with that ID found

 
From: Nick - 2468 Rank: Field Marshall Tun
Rating: 6.00
 
Abbot ale is a full flavoured strong ale. It is always worth a mention but can be rather to sweet and cloying. A beer of this strength should be more distinctive! but as a wide spread brand it scores reasonably well.
Submited On: 2003-10-18
 
From: Greg - 11 Rank: Sergeant Gallon
Rating: 6.00
 
Good stronger session beer. Slips down too easily. Quality usually consistant in any hostelry. A good effort from a larger brewery.
Submited On: 2003-10-21
 
From: matt635 - 431 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 5.50
 
Well, I really wasn't expecting much from this when I first tried it, and I have to say I was pleasantley suprised. It's not great by any stretch of the imagination (or tastebuds) but it's not bad! It seems to be quite common and therefore a realistic alternative to the really crap beers like Bass, or Tetleys.
Submited On: 2004-10-17
 
From: luke - 216 Rank: Lieutenant Colonel Kilderkin
Rating: 5.50
 
Not a bad strength beer, but not much real flavour or aroma. Available in alot of pubs however there are far better real ales out there, avoid this unless there is nothing better.
Submited On: 2004-03-10
 
From: barthez - 808 Rank: Major General Hogs Head
Rating: 5.50
 
If you're not in a proper pub that serves real ale, you'll probably be glad to see Abbot, as it will be a good alternative to any keg crap. But despite it's strength it really doesn't have much in the taste department. An average beer from a well below average brewery!!!
Submited On: 2004-04-02
 
From: Christ - 40 Rank: Lieutenant Pin
Rating: 6.00
 
Hidden amongst the cack in even the most mainstream of high street pubs it's a long way better than the Bass's of this world and not a bad last choice if you are surrounded by an army of alcopop touting trendies.
Submited On: 2004-07-25
 
From: kevin b - 112 Rank: Captain Firkin
Rating: 5.50
 
Its taste is a bit sweet and this tends to mask its strength.I would not like to drink it all night it tends to put me to sleep.If its kept well a good beer.
Submited On: 2004-10-20
 
From: K Folwell - 3457 Rank: Head Of Allied Command
Rating: 7.00
 
Probably this regional brewery's flagship beer. Overbranded but find a good hostlery with a competent cellerman and it will deliver. Full bodied premium ale that's Bitter but with sweet undertones. Tastes its strength.
Submited On: 2004-08-10
 
From: Sigmund - 395 Rank: Colonel Barrel
Rating: 6.50
 
Cask or can, this is good stuff. Always a safe bet when you want a stronger ale. Rerate: Cask conditioned at the Robin Hood & Little John, Cherry Hinton, Cambridge (a Greene King pub). Copper coloured, minimal carbonation. Moderate caramel and malt vinegar aroma. Malty flavour, caramel, low bitterness. ABV is well hidden. OKish, but not really exciting. Disappointing held up to my (failing?) memory of the bottled/canned version. The Old Speck’ is a better choice.
Submited On: 2005-08-30
 
From: greenflash - 5 Rank: Corporal Quart
Rating: 7.50
 
I cant remember having a bad pint of abbot. dry & hoppy. a good sunday lunchtime ale.
Submited On: 2004-11-30

Page 1 of 3